UTD Account Access Removal Policy

Table of Contents

Overview

Access to UTD NetID accounts and computing resources is limited to active Students, Faculty, Staff, and some Guests. UTD accounts are intended for educational and professional use only. Personal use of UTD email accounts and other resources is strongly discouraged. Users retain access to their email accounts for the duration of their attendance/employment with the University. Users receive an email to their UTD email account approximately 35 days before access changes occur.

Student Accounts

Students graduating from UTD generally retain their account for two long semesters (~1 year) after graduation. During this time, the account will be set to the "Basic" service level, which permits access to UTD email, OneDrive, Box, home directory, UTD web apps, and the UTD network.

After two long semesters, the account will be deactivated and all data will be permanently removed. OIT sends a notification approximately 35 days before removal, allowing time to transfer data, close accounts, etc.

Account Removal Timeline

  1. Student Graduates account is set to "Basic" service level.
    • Access remains active to:
      • UTD email
      • OneDrive
      • Home Directory
      • Galaxy
      • eLearning, etc. 
    • No Access to UTD computing resources.
  2. Two long semesters pass (fall and spring).
  3. Approximately 35 days before removal, an email is sent to the UTD email address with the subject "Action Required – Your UT Dallas Email Account Will Be Removed in the Next 35 Days."
  4. User account is deactivated.
    • Access is lost to all UTD resources including but not limited to:
      • UTD email
      • OneDrive
      • M365 services
      • Box
      • Home Directory
      • eLearning
    • All user data is permanently deleted.
Need more information? Please view the article on the UTD NetID Account Lifecycle.

 

Note: There are no extensions for UTD student accounts. All data will be lost once the account is deactivated. 

Students who need longer access due to a continuing affiliation with the University will need a Full-Time Staff or Faculty member to submit an Computer Access- IT Resource Request to sponsor the account for the duration needed. This request must be submitted and approved before account access is lost.

Notable Exceptions

While the vast majority of students will lose access to their account after two long semesters, there are a few notable exceptions.

  • Students that withdraw from the University lose access to all resources immediately.
  • Students on OPT or STEM OPT retain their email access for the duration of those programs.

Former Student Reactivation

If you need to access Orion to request and download transcripts, please visit the Registrars Transcript page. Once reactivated, you will only have access to UTD web apps.

Note: There is no way to regain access to UTD email, OneDrive files, Box files, or Home Directory files.

Faculty Accounts

Paid Faculty

Paid Faculty accounts generally remain active for approximately one year following the most recent teaching semester. During this time, the account is set to the "Basic" service level. Access to UTD email, M365, Box, Home Directory, Galaxy, and eLearning is retained (access to UTD computing resources is lost.)

After approximately one year, the account will be deactivated and all data will be permanently removed. OIT sends a notification approximately 35 days before removal, allowing time to transfer data, close accounts, etc.

Account Removal Timeline (Paid Faculty)

  1. Faculty employment is terminated and account is set to "Basic" service level.
    • Access remains active to:
      • UTD email
      • OneDrive
      • Home Directory
      • Galaxy
      • eLearning, etc.
    • Access to UTD computing resources is lost.
  2. Approximately 1 year passes.
  3. Approximately 35 days before removal, an email is sent to the UTD email address with the subject "Action Required – Your UT Dallas Email Account Will Be Removed in the Next 35 Days."
  4. User account is deactivated.
    • Access is lost to all UTD resources including but not limited to:
      • UTD email
      • OneDrive
      • M365 services
      • Box
      • Home Directory
      • eLearning
    • All user data is permanently deleted.
Need more information? Please view the article on the UTD NetID Account Lifecycle.

Unpaid Faculty

Unpaid Faculty accounts are deactivated 35 days after their department submits an account termination request through Termination- IT Resource Request.

Note: If extended access is required, it must be requested by the department via a Computer Access- IT Resource Request The request must be submitted and approved before the account is deactivated.

Account Removal Timeline (Unpaid Faculty)

  1. Faculty employment is terminated and account set to "Basic" service level.
    • Access remains active to:
      • UTD email
      • OneDrive
      • Home Directory
      • Galaxy
      • eLearning, etc
    • Access to UTD computing resources is lost.
  2. Approximately 35 days before removal, an email is sent to the UTD email address with the subject "Action Required – Your UT Dallas Email Account Will Be Removed in the Next 35 Days."
  3. Approximately 35 days pass.
  4. User account is deactivated.
    • Access is lost to all UTD resources including but not limited to:
      • UTD email
      • OneDrive
      • M365 services
      • Box
      • Home Directory
      • eLearning.
    • All user data is permanently deleted.
Need more information? Please view the article on the UTD NetID Account Lifecycle.

Notable Exceptions

  • Retirees are set to "Basic" service level and retain account access indefinitely.

Staff Accounts

Staff accounts are generally deactivated immediately upon leaving the University. Access to all UTD resources including UTD email, M365, Box, eLearning, and Galaxy is lost.

Need more information? Please view the article on the UTD NetID Account Lifecycle.

 

Note: If extended access is required, it must be requested by the department via a Computer Access- IT Resource Request The request must be submitted and approved before the account is deactivated.

Notable Exceptions

  • Retirees are set to "Basic" service level and retain account access indefinitely.

Guest Accounts

Guest accounts are generally deactivated immediately upon the submission of a Termination- IT Resource Request from the department. Once the account has been deactivated, there is no way to regain access.

Saving Your Data

Once an account is deactivated, all data is lost. To retain access to important accounts and data, the following steps are recommended:

  • Change the email on accounts using your UTD email (NetID@utdallas.edu)
  • Download the contents of your Home Directory to personal storage.
  • Download or transfer data stored in UTD OneDrive or Box cloud storage.
    • Access to shared files and folders will be lost as the originals are deleted.
  • Grant ownership of shared files to other parties.
Need further assistance? Please contact the OIT Service Desk.
Print Article

Details

Article ID: 516
Created
Mon 11/22/21 12:59 PM
Modified
Sat 6/29/24 5:43 PM

Related Services / Offerings (1)

Email at UT Dallas is provided by Microsoft Office 365 and is sometimes called “Exchange Online” email. Office 365 email is protected by Duo & modern authentication.